Super Bowl 45 Prediction

Posted: February 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

The Super Bowl is finally upon us. In Arlington, Texas on the first Sunday in February the Pittsburgh Steelers and Green Bay Packers will do battle for the right to be named Super Bowl champion. After five long months of football action only one team will walk up to the podium and lift the Vince Lombardi Trophy. Let’s breakdown the matchup.

The Steelers and Packers did not play each other during this past season, you have to back a season to find their last matchup. On Dec 20th of 2009 a shootout occurred at Heinz Field in Pittsburgh with the Steelers winning 37-36 over the Packers in a back and forth game. Both teams combined for 973 total yards. 886 of those yards were thrown in the air. Quarterbacks Ben Roethlisberger, and Aaron Rodgers both had incredible afternoons. Roethlisberger threw for 503 yards, and 3 touchdowns including a game winning touchdown pass to wide receiver Mike Wallace on the last play of the game. On the Green Bay side Aaron Rodgers had 383 passing yards, and also threw 3 touchdowns.  

Pittsburgh defeated Baltimore, and the New York Jets to get to the Super Bowl while the Packers had a more difficult road to the Super Bowl. The Packers went on the road and took down the Philadelphia Eagles, Atlanta Falcons and Chicago Bears. Going back to the regular season Green Bay has won 5 must win games in a row to get to the Super Bowl. The Steelers and Packers are both banged up and have had a lot of injuries on their road to the Super Bowl. The Steelers, and Packers ability to adapt and bring in new players to play in unfamiliar rolls has helped tremendously to help bring them to the Super Bowl. Both teams have an amazing stellar defense. On the Pittsburgh side free safety Troy Polamalu won the Associated Press Defensive player of the year award this season. Coming up just two votes shy was Green Bay linebacker Clay Matthews. Those players are just one of many players who are capable of having a monster game on Sunday. On the offensive side of the ball Green Bay has the edge thanks to their plethora of scoring options. If the Packers offensive line can give Aaron Rodgers enough time in the pocket he should be able to work his magic and find receivers Greg Jennings, Donald Driver, James Jones, and Jordy Nelson for big plays and touchdowns. Green Bay also has an option to run the ball if they want to give it to running back James Starks. Starks has come out of nowhere this post season to lead the Packers in rushing yards. Pittsburgh should be able to go toe to toe with the Packers offense as long as Pittsburgh’s battered offensive line can keep Roethlisberger up right. That could prove to be a huge problem because Pittsburgh centre Maurkice Pouncey is questionable with a high ankle sprain injury. Pouncey sustained the injury in the Steelers win over the New York Jets. When Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger looks for a pass he will look for wide receivers Hines Ward, Mike Wallace, and Emmanuel Sanders in the open field for a big score. One of Roethlisberger’s other options is his favourite target, tight end Heath Miller. The Packers will need to cover him closely as well. If the Packers defense is successful with their blitz against Roethlisberger it could be a long game for the rejuvenated Pittsburgh quarterback. Green Bay will look to sack, disturb, and disrupt Big Ben early on to get him off his game. The Steelers will need to get their running game going early with star running back Rashard Mendenhall to keep the Packers defense guessing. Both teams do not have a great return game so don’t expect to see any 90 yard plus runs on a kick return by Antwaan Randle El of the Steelers, Tramon Williams of the Packers, or anybody else. When it comes to the kicking game both teams have veteran field goal kickers in Shaun Suisham of the Steelers, and Mason Crosby of the Packers. Both kickers should have no excuse for missing any field goals with the Super Bowl on the line. This will be another exciting high scoring Super Bowl. When the Black Eyed Peas halftime show is finally over, and all of the overhyped commercials have been played, and the last second has ticked off the clock Green Bay will be be victorious in Super Bowl XLV. Prediction Packers 34 – Steelers 30

Comments
  1. Kilroy says:

    Har, as a Steeler fan, I’m glad I didn’t read this before the Super Bowl! You prediction was nearly right on. GRRRRR! Anyway, I notice the other Pittsbugh sports reference to my Pirates who are doing amazingly well at the moment just finishing a sweep of Houston. Anyway, the Pirates were the big underdog in 1960 so their comparison would go to the Bruins and Vancouver would be the Yankees although the final scores say otherwise.

    • Hey Neil you’re a Steelers fan eh. I guess you’re a fan of the Black and Yellow song? I’m not a Pittsburgh Steelers fan. I can’t stand Roethlisberger, Polamalu, Ward, and the Steelers. My cousins in Toronto moved back to Canada from Pittsburgh and they love the Steelers, and Pens so I can’t cheer for them unless they’re playing the Jets or Maple Laughs. The Pirates are doing remarkably well. Do they know the season is almost nearing the All Star break, shouldn’t they be tanking soon? How come you’re such a Pittsburgh fan? Are you also a fan of the Pitt Panthers? Thanks for checking out my blog hopefully we can agree to disagree on the Pittsburgh sports landscape.

  2. Terry says:

    Thousands of people aren’t writing you? You were all over D&C this morning (although they created a montage of your phone calls from the past couple weeks, and were starting to get a little patronizing, which is more what i expect from those crusty old farts, and don’t get me started on their politics…).

    I’m a crusty old fart myself, and while I love your perspective, attitude and prose, your punctuation, and from time to time, your grammar, drives me crazy! Take one more pass to tidy things up, and your blogs will be even better. Maybe it would help to break up some of your honking-long paragraphs, too. Too many unrelated thoughts in one paragraph can detract from a lovely essay. And although Vancouver is one of the loveliest and nicest cities in North America, if you really want to be a sports journalist, you’re going to have to get away from what you repeatedly remind us is a one-sport city. Maybe Seattle, so the culture shock is not too great? San Francisco has real teams, but it is California…

    The score will be 2-1; maybe 3-1 with an empty netter. There will be more than 4 minors called, but some of them will be offsetting penalties. Between great defense/goal-tending and timid offense, there may be no PPGs for either team. Vancouverites will riot either way (BTW, it’s Bostonians, not Bostoners [too much like New Yawkehs], and never Bostonites).

    Oh, I have to pick the winner? My heart says Boston, but my brain says Vancouver. Can I make my prediction after the first goal is scored? There has only been been one game with a come-from-behind lead change: one for each team in Game 2, with Vancouver of course prevailing. Two first goals were the only goal, and 3 first goals were the prelude to blowouts; only in game 2 was the first goal just another goal.

    • Hi Terry I wouldn’t say thousands of people are writing me. If you add up all the comments on the 3 stories I’ve written since the series started you can see what type of feeback I’ve been getting from New Englanders. It hasn’t amounted to thousands of comments. For the most part I haven’t been ripped too much. Bruins fans have been pretty kind to me. I sort of like writing long paragraphs. I like to break it down to an intro, a Boston, section, and then a Vancouver section followed by a conclusion. For the most part I’m just trying to get the story out quickly. Usually I take a lot longer to write and edit everything. Seattle really isn’t a big sports town. They have an MLB, NFL, and MLS team but for the most part they all suck. Downtown Seattle isn’t really a happening place unless the Mariners, Seahawks, Sounders are playing. San Francisco is alright but for the most part I would say that it’s not a huge sports town. Look at the SF Giants, other than that team what else do they have in SF the awful 49ers… It looks like I got one thing right about game 7 only 3 minor penalties were called. I can’t believe how crappy my Canucks played. When it was 2-0 I said well these guys are f_cked. Congratulations to you and your fellow B’s fans. I’m almost more upset about the riots than the game. Thanks Terry for checking out my blog and sharing your comments with me and others during the series. Don’t be a stranger, thanks.

      • Terry says:

        OK, so you’ll have to move to Boston or Chicago or (yuck) NY. DC/Philly? Maybe Nashville. They have a hockey team and Taylor Swift 🙂

        As bad as your ‘Nucks were, your hooligans’ behaviour was far worse, and the fact that the city was unprepared, after 1994, is appalling.

        I thought there would be more penalties, but the few that were called allowed us to add to our SHGs, which for the record exceed the Canucks’ PPGs.

        Hope you get that guest slot on D&C.

      • Hi Terry I would move to Boston, Chicago, NY, Philly, DC, or even Detroit if a journalism job for me at a station existed. I’m not a Taylor Swift fan and I don’t like country music but I have heard that Nashville is a great city. Yah the riot was awful. The VPD said they were overwhelmed by the crowd, and they underestimated the size of the crowd. It was an epic fail by everyone involved. Yah the lack of penalties being called really hurt Vancouver. Even when the Canucks did gain a man advantage Boston scored more times shorthanded than Vancouver did on the power play. Yikes!! Yes I’m hoping for that guest spot come early August. Hopefully D&C keep their word. Thanks for sharing all your comments with me on my blog during the finals. Terry don’t be a stranger.

  3. Terry says:

    Setting underdogs aside, I am comparing the Pirates to the ‘Nucks, and the Bruins to the Yankees (as abhorrent as that is). Going into game 7, the Bruins have dominated to “Nucks in 3 games, and the “Nucks have squeezed by in the other 3. If Boston wins game 7, the analogy falls apart, and it even falls apart if Vancouver wins by a large margin (which I don’t think will happen). If Vancouver squeaks by (it all hinges on Lucic- how’s that for irony?), the analogy will be complete.
    Yankees: 55 runs 3 wins
    Pirates: 27 runs 4 wins

    Bruins: 18 goals 3 wins
    “Nucks: 8 goals 3 wins

    Also interesting:
    Sedin twins absence
    Complete collapse of the Vancouver PP
    Will the refs swallow their whistles in Game 7?
    That massive crowd outside in the square- what will they do either way?

    BTW, how do you respond to ALL your reader’s comments? Aren’t thousands of people writing to you?

    • Hi Terry so with all that being said and with your vast comparison of the 1960 World Series to this Stanley Cup Final who do you have winning tonight? What kind of score line do you think we’ll see? I think Henrik is hurt and that’s why he has been under performing. The Vancouver media have said he has lost a ton of weight recently. Daniel has been playing better but he gets a lot of his goals from Henrik’s beautiful passes. I hope the Refs let the teams play, and decide the outcome on their own. In Game 7 of the Tampa/Boston series I don’t think a single penalty was called. I will set the Over/Under on 4 minor penalties tonight. Nope thousands of people aren’t writing me. You can read each and every comment on here and it doesn’t amount to thousands of comments. I’m very much appreciative of the comments I have received, I couldn’t ask for more. All the attention and comments I’ve gotten have been so wonderful. Thanks for commenting and visiting my blog Terry.

  4. Terry says:

    I think the bruins will win again in Boston, but it won’t be a blowout. Even if it is, I don’t think the Canucks care about what happens in Boston, and Game 7 will be a carbon copy of 1,2,& 5. Think 1960 Pirates.

    • Hi Terry I don’t think the 1960 World Series Champion Pittsburgh Pirates will make an appearance in this series. I heard the same analogy on Vancouver radio yesterday so I know what you’re thinking about, but the Boston Bruins are no Pittsburgh Pirate team. Boston has been the team that’s had no problems scoring. Vancouver only has 6 goals in 5 games. I think it comes down to game 7 on Wednesday. Thanks Terry.

      • Terry says:

        Mmmm, missing the point. Yankees won by large margins: 16 – 3, 10 – 0, 12 – 0. The Pirates won by small margins: 6 – 4, 3 – 2, 5 – 2, and 10 – 9. Overall, the Yankees scored 28 more runs than the pirates- they outscored them by 4 runs/game. Who won the world series?

      • Hi Terry the Pittsburgh Pirates won the 1960 World Series and they were the clear under dog against the heavily powered and stacked New York Yankees. Are you trying to compare the B’s Stanley Cup Final to the Pittsburgh Pirates World Series team of 1960? I guess you could sort of make that comparison if Boston wins game 7 in Vancouver. I don’t think the Bruins have been out dominated, and out scored as much as Pittsburgh was in that series. I think the Bruins are better than that, and they’ve shown that with their goaltending, and goal scoring. Thanks.

  5. Terry says:

    Not a single comment? Even after your pick was pretty spot-on?

    Looking forward to hearing you on eei Monday. You have a fresh sound, and those crusty old farts on D&C seem to have a soft spot for you. Keep up the good work.

    • Hi Terry I thought I made quite a few comments on D&C this morning(Friday) I don’t know if you had a chance to listen but the interview is up on D&C’s page on Weei.com. I’m picking Vancouver in game 5 and Boston to kick Vancouver’s ass at home in game 6. As for the 7th game it’s going to be a coin flip. I will be calling in on Monday at 6:50am if you want to hear me then. Thanks for the compliments, and thank you for visiting my blog Terry.

      • Terry says:

        I was talking about your Superbowl pick.

        I think Game 6 will be closer than you think, and that will give Vancouver enough confidence to win another 1-goal game. Guess Krejci will have to play another year.

        Red Sox are looking pretty good…

      • Hey Terry sorry about that, sometimes all the wonderful comments on here sort of roll together. What were you saying about the Super Bowl? Are you saying you think Vancouver will have enough confidence to win game 6 in Boston? Are you predicating a 1 goal Vancouver Win? Yah the Sox are rolling. All their games against Toronto are on TV up here across Canada, but unfortunately I’ve been so busy I’ve missed the Friday and Saturday games. Hopefully Lester keeps them winning today against Drabek. Thanks for sharing your thoughts again Terry.

    • John S says:

      Easy on D&C they are very good at what they do. Yes they do have a soft spot for Har, who wouldn’t

      • Hi John D&C are really awesome and I have loved every minute of conversation I have had with them so far. I couldn’t ask to speak with any better hosts. I’m so glad they enjoyed talking with me. I was a little concerned they might not put me on air if I was going to come on and rip the B’s. I must also say that Iggy and Chach have been terrific too. They both do a amazing job producing the show. Now If I could only figure out this “Meter” character. Thanks for listening John.

Leave a Reply

