Sean Pronger talks about Journeyman

Posted: January 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

VANCOUVER, B.C – Retired NHL veteran Sean Pronger has written a book called Journeyman. Pronger writes in detail about his roller-coaster of a journey throughout his 11-year pro hockey career. Pronger had his ups and downs during his life playing hockey and he has written a fantastic book full of stories and adventures. Sean Pronger had time for an interview during a book signing in Vancouver before Christmas.

When did you decide you wanted to  get together with Dan Murphy to write a book?

Sean Pronger: I stayed with Dan and his wife over the 2010 Olympics in Vancouver with me and my whole family at his house. We had a couple of late nights talking about some things and I had written a blog out about my first year pro. It was like a combination of 6 blogs mashed together. He (Dan Murphy) read it, and his wife read it and they got a kick out of it and that was kind of how the idea was hatched. Dan met a book agent in September of that year that said hey if you’ve got any ideas or any players that have any book ideas let me know because I’m always looking for new writers. He contacted me and I sent him my blog and that’s how it started.

Why did you want to write a book?

Sean Pronger: That’s a really good question… I don’t even know… (laughs) I just thought it would be cool to say that we wrote a book and that I’m a published author. I never set out to think about writing a book. I thought it’d be a lot harder than it was. I think both of us thought it would be cool if we did it. The fact that people are liking it makes it worth while.

What is your book, Journeyman about?

Sean Pronger: Our book is about my life as a pro hockey player. I played 11-years pro on 16 different teams, 5 different leagues, and 3 continents. It’s just the story of a guy trying to make it to the NHL and all the things that kind of happen a long the way. It’s a journey that a lot of other players take but we were just able to get it done on paper.

Can you tell me about a story that’s in your book?

Sean Pronger: My first year pro was the 1994/1995 lockout. I went to training camp in the IHL with the Las Vegas Thunder and was cut. I then joined the Knoxville Chargers of the East Coast Hockey League, I played there and the lockout ended and I signed with Anaheim and then from Anaheim I went to San Diego their farm team, and I played 8 game there and realized I wasn’t playing much and thought I was going to go back to Knoxville in the East Coast Hockey League. I ended up going to Greensboro in the East Coast Hockey League and that was team number four already and now it’s only February. Then I got a puck in the face and broke my jaw, and I had my truck stolen. That was my introduction into pro hockey. There’s some good stories in there but that would be one that kind of got everything rolling.

Without giving too much away can you tell me about the Todd Bertuzzi / Steve Moore incident that you write about in Journeyman?

Sean Pronger: As it turns out that was my last NHL game ever that night as it was for Steve Moore. It was just a weird night in general. It was one of those games that things got out of hand, and I feel bad for everybody involved. I’m sure if Todd Bertuzzi could go back in time he’d probably take that punch back. It was my last game and won’t be one I’ll ever forget.

Why should people buy Journeyman?

Sean Pronger: I think they’ll be able to identify with the struggles. I certainly wasn’t a superstar by any stretch and just kind of what it takes to have the resiliency you need to have to get to where you want to go. I think a lot of people will identify with the struggles, especially the emotional and mental struggles a long the way to get to where your going.

What do you hope readers take away from reading Journeyman?

Sean Pronger: I hope they have a few laughs, I hope they kind of learn some things they might not know about what it’s like on the other side of the coin. It’s kind of peek behind the curtain to see what really goes on and hopefully there’s some sort of underlying motivation there, that if you can believe in yourself and stick with it good things can happen.

What kind of support has Journeyman received so far?

Sean Pronger: So far it’s been great. We’ve had great reviews in the paper. The support has been great. Dan and his connections in the media have obviously been really helpful. The books been well received and we think not only hockey fans but also sports fans in general would get a kick out of reading it.

Is Journeyman a kid friendly book?

Sean Pronger: Kids can read it, but I will say there is a little bit of adult language but it’s not too much. It’s nothing you wouldn’t here in a locker room. I would say kid friendly to age 8+.

Where are the proceeds of your book sales going?

Sean Pronger: Well most of them are going to Penguin the Publisher.

What can you tell me about the clothing line you’ve started with your wife?

Sean Pronger: Yes it’s kind of based on the same thing, the brand name is JRNYMN with no vowels and it’s just kind of a wink and a nod to the lifestyle that you lead as a journeyman.

Where can people go to find more information on your clothing line?

Sean Pronger: That would be online only at https://www.jrnymnwear.com/

Do you have anything else to add to your fans out there?

Sean Pronger: I think that they would get a kick out of reading this book. They should check it out and if you like it lets hear ya and if you don’t I’d like to hear that too.

What are your thoughts on the NHL Lockout?

Sean Pronger: I’m just tired of it… I’m just done with the lockout. The games suffering and they just need to figure it out.

Thank You very much Sean, good luck

Sean Pronger: Your welcome, thanks.

Leave a Reply

