The Vancouver Whitecaps make their Champions League Predictions

Posted: April 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

VANCOUVER, B.C – The 2012-2013 UEFA Champions League tournament has come down to four remaining teams representing two football leagues, and two countries.

Bayern Munich will take on Barcelona, while Borussia Dortmund will battle Real Madrid. Both games will offer mouth-watering entertaining football for millions of fans all across the globe.

The biggest club football tournament in the world will hold the final match of Champions League on Saturday, May 25, 2013 in London, England at the famed Wembley Stadium. Football pundits, and prognosticators from across the world will suggest that Barcelona are the odds on favourites to win the tournament.

The Vancouver Whitecaps players will be playing close attention to the tournament when the semi-final matches are played on April 23, 24, 30, and May 1st. Whitecaps defenders Andy O’Brien, and Y.P. Lee have played in many Champions League matches throughout their careers in Europe before joining MLS.

Along with O’Brien and Lee several Whitecaps players have shared their thoughts on who they will be cheering for down the stretch.

Andy O’Brien – “I fancy Dortmund. I’ll be surprised if they don’t win it to be honest. I think they could be the team to beat. I know Bayern Munich have won the domestic league so they must be something as well.”

“I think prior to this year they won the league twice, and they’re entertaining to watch, and the work ethic, and their ability to ground out results. They were in a very difficult group with Man City, and Real Madrid, and they came through that so I think they’ll be the team to beat.”

O’Brien has some fond memories of his own time playing in the Champions League.

“I played in the Champions League with Newcastle, and we got through to the second stage, and played Barcelona, Inter Milan, Juventus, Bayer Leverkusen, and went to the semifinal of the UEFA Cup as well against Marseille in the quarter-finals a year after, and we were beat by Sporting Lisbon so I’ve enjoyed some games in Europe, and then was fortunate to play again in the competition with Bolton after that. It’s been a highlight I suppose of anybody’s career, and I’m well proud of that, and playing international football.”

Y.P. Lee – “Barcelona. Barcelona is the best team in the world at the moment. If Barcelona can be the champion I feel that it’s fair. Every single players quality is very rare, and they know how to move, pass, and dominate the game.”

“I have played in the Champions League around 25 games, and it’s very special. You feel different, it’s a big bonus, and everyone including the coaches, sponsors, clubs, and everyone want to win because winners get the money. I’ve played against everyone, Arsenal, AC Milan, and so many teams.”

“Yes it’s big pressure, and very very special but it doesn’t feel like the World Cup. The World Cup is huge, and it’s very close to the feeling like the World Cup because you want to be champion.”

Nigel Reo-Coker – “I don’t really think I’ll be cheering for anyone. I’ll just look to enjoy both games. They’re great teams, and they’re great teams with big history, and big traditions so it looks like it’s going to be a very interesting Champions League.”

“I wouldn’t say there’s a clear out favourite, I just think that it makes a great viewing for the football fan.”

Corey Hertzog – “I want to see a German final so I want to go with Dortmund, and Bayern Munich. Hertzog is German so there you go.”

“I’ve been a fan of Bayern Munich for a while, and I met the team a couple of years ago in high school so I’m a Bayern Munich fan, and just to see Barcelona lose a game that would be awesome.”

“I went overseas in Germany, and I met the entire team Ribery, and all of them. It was some national regional team when I was in high school in 10th grade, and we just watched them practice and met them. It was (Mario) Gomez, (Franck) Ribery, (Bastian) Schweinsteiger, and all of them.”

Matt Watson – “I’ll be cheering for Barcelona, I love the way they play. They’re amazing to watch with the way they pass, and they way they move, they’re such a team. I like all the other teams but I guess I have a weak spot for Barcelona. I just love that they are a team. I think that Real Madrid is more of a team of individuals. I like Dortmund as well…… but Dortmund or Barca it’s hard to say. I just love Barca, and that’s who I’m going with.”

Brad Rusin – “I think I’ll go with Barca. They just play the game beautifully, and it’s just fun to watch. As a team they play some amazing football, and it’s very entertaining.”

“I’ve only played in a Cup match in Denmark. We went to the semifinals of the Danish Cup, and if we would have won, and went to the final, we would have went to the Europa Cup, so that’s about as high level as I’ve played.”

Camilo Sanvezzo – “I like Madrid because of Kaka, Marcelo, and Cristiano Ronaldo. They have a good team, and I like how Madrid play.”

Omar Salgado – “I’am cheering for Real Madrid… but I want Barcelona to win because of Messi.”

As you can see the Whitecaps are a divided team when it comes to cheering on the final four teams in the Champions League. While the consensus appears to favour Barcelona you can never count out zeeeeee sneaky Germans!!

Notes: Bayern Munich lost the 2012 Champions League final to Chelsea after falling 4-3 in a penalty-shoot-out in front of 62,500 fans at the Allianz Arena, in Munich, Germany.

Leave a Reply

